Minutes: August 10th, 2011


AUGUST 10, 2011

The regular meeting of the Catawba Island Township Board of Zoning Appeals was held on August 10, 2011 in the conference room. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Bryan Baugh at 7:30 p.m. Board members present included Tom Anslow, Doug Blackburn, Jack DeVore, Sandra Erwin, Dale VanLerberghe, and Jack Zeigler. Zoning Inspector Walter Wehenkel was also in attendance along with Township Trustee, Matt Montowski. No members of the public were in attendance.

Chairman Baugh stated there were no cases for consideration by the Board this evening. He requested the Board members review the meeting minutes of the July 13, 2011 meeting. He asked for any changes. None were noted. Dale VanLerberghe moved for approval of the minutes as presented. Doug Blackburn seconded the motion. The motion was passed unanimously. The Board members signed the paperwork related to the Chris Scott variance acted on in July.

Chairman Baugh stated the proposed additional stipend for the Board Secretary, Sandra Erwin, had been discussed by the Township Trustees. The Trustees declined the proposal of the Board of Zoning Appeals to pay the Secretary $50.00/meeting to transcribe the meeting minutes. Chairman Baugh stated that Sandra Erwin could remain as Secretary with the transcription being done by either Walter Wehenkel, the zoning inspector, or Shelly Stively, the Township’s Administrative Assistant. Once transcribed the minutes could be sent out for review with changes/corrections submitted.

A general discussion followed. Issues of concern related to the transcription process included the clarity of the voices on the tape, knowing who was speaking, and the time involved in transcribing the minutes. Matt Montowski assured the Board that Shelly and/or Walter would have the time. Matt stated it would be cost effective to maximize the use of the existing part-time employees.

The Board decided to retain Sandra Erwin as Secretary and have the minutes transcribed by someone else at the township.

Jack Zeigler moved to adjourn the meeting. Doug Blackburn seconded the motion. The motion passed and the meeting was adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

____________________________ ______________________________
Bryan Baugh, Chairman Sandra Erwin, Secretary