Minutes: January 9th, 2019


JANUARY 9, 2019


Rick Smetzer

Chairman Bryan Baugh called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Board members in attendance included: Sandy Erwin, Jack Zeigler, Doug Blackburn, and Tim McKenna. Matt Montowski, Trustee was also in attendance.

Reorganizational Meeting

Doug Blackburn made a motion to nominate the following Slate of Officers for 2019:

Bryan Baugh Chairperson
Jack Zeigler Vice-Chairperson
Sandy Erwin Secretary

The motion was seconded by Tim McKenna. The motion passed unanimously.

New Business

Doug Blackburn made a motion to have the 2019 Board of Zoning Appeals Meetings start at 6:00 p.m. The motion was seconded by Sandy Erwin. The motion passed unanimously.

Old Business

The Board discussed an Architectural Review Board. The Board noted that some control is available through the variance process. However, if a variance is not needed, then that control is not available. Signs were discussed and it was noted that possible changes could be made as text amendments.

The Board noted that the BZA is not the appropriate board to enforce architectural requirements.

Tim McKenna questioned what started the discussion of an Architectural Review Board. Rick Smetzer noted that it was related to the Dollar General Store.

The Board noted that the creation of an Architectural Review Board will need to be made by the Trustees.

Approval of Minutes – December 12, 2018

The minutes from the December 12, 2018 meeting was mailed to each member. Doug Blackburn moved to approve the December 12, 2018 meeting minutes. Jack Zeigler seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Other Business

Concerning the Rock Ledge area, Doug Blackburn noted that the private road is not within the right-of-way. A property owner may attempt to have the road relocated.


Doug Blackburn moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Sandra Erwin. The meeting was adjourned at 7:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

______________________________ ________________________________
Bryan Baugh, Chairman Sandra Erwin, Secretary