Minutes: May 10th, 2011

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees

Zoning Hearing

May 10, 2011

Chairman Matt Montowski called the Zoning Hearing to order on Tuesday, May 10, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. in the conference room of the administration building.

In attendance were Matt Montowski, William Rofkar, Gary Mortus, Karen Shaw, Richard Greene, and Jack DeVore.

Matt Montowski read Rezoning Application 543640 submitted by Richard Greene and Anita Selvey owners of the property located at 5087 Porter Road, Port Clinton, Ohio. The request is to rezone their property in Ottawa City (Block 3, Lots 13-16) from the “A” Low Density Residential District to the “C-3” Highway Commercial District. Matt Montowski said Richard Greene and Anita Selvey have no immediate plans to do anything with the property except possibly build an accessory building on the property. He said their property is surrounded by “C-3” zoned property.

Karen Shaw read a letter from Todd Bickley, Director of Ottawa County Regional Planning, wherein he stated the Commission voted to recommend approval of the rezoning request based on the surrounding zoning of the parcel.

Matt Montowski said the rezoning request was brought before the Board at the Zoning Commission meeting on April 27 and the Board approved the rezoning request to the “C-3” District and recommended the Trustees do the same.

Matt Montowski opened discussion to the floor. Richard Greene said he had nothing to add unless the Trustees had any questions for him.

There being no further discussion from the floor Matt Montowski closed the public portion of the hearing to allow the Trustees to discuss the case.

The Trustees discussed the case briefly and had no concerns with the request.

Gary Mortus made a motion to adopt the zoning change based on the recommendation of the Zoning Commission as it pertains to Application 543640. William Rofkar seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

William Rofkar stated the zoning amendment will go into effect in 30 days.

Gary Mortus made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by William Rofkar. All voted aye. The meeting was adjourned at 7:07 p.m.

_______________________________ ______________________________
Matt Montowski, Chairman
Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer