Minutes: January 29th, 2013

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees
Special Meeting Minutes
January 29, 2013

A special meeting of the Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees was held on January 29, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. in the conference room to discuss the township recycling program.

In attendance were Gary Mortus, William Rofkar, Matt Montowski, Karen Shaw, Dan Barlow, Steve Smith, Bryan Baugh, Kevin Sabo, Tim Groff, Rich Chandler, Jim Darr, and Tim Wasserman.

Chairman Gary Mortus opened the floor to discussion regarding the township recycling containers currently located at the West Harbor Boat Launch parking lot off Route 53.

Township residents voiced their concerns regarding the noise disturbance in the early morning hours when the containers are being weighed and dumped. They also said loose debris blows around when container lids are not secured properly. Additionally, it was noted not everyone utilizing the recycling site follows the one way traffic signage and enter and exit from the same location creating a traffic safety concern.

Representatives from Rumpke said they are concerned the upcoming fishing season will bring additional traffic and parked cars to the area making it difficult to maneuver their equipment. They also expressed it is likely summer visitors will dump trash and fish waste in the recycling containers contaminating the contents.

A lengthy discussion took place regarding alternate locations for the recycling containers.

In order to better serve the residents and ensure continued success of the program a decision was made by township trustees to move the recycling containers to the township administrative building parking lot at 4822 East Cemetery Road.

Representatives from the OSS Solid Waste District agreed to move the recycling containers on Wednesday, January 30, to the new location.

William Rofkar made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Gary Mortus seconded the motion. All voted aye. Meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

______________________________ _____________________________
Gary Mortus, Chairman Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer