Minutes: December 7th, 2015

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees

Meeting Minutes

December 7, 2015

The regular business meeting of the Catawba Island Board of Township Trustees was called to order by Chairman Gary Mortus on Monday, December 7, at 7:30 p.m. in the conference room.

In attendance were Gary Mortus, Matt Montowski, William Rofkar, Karen Shaw,
Richard Smetzer, Allen Stryker, and Randy Riedmaier.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

William Rofkar made a motion to approve the November 24 Board of Trustees regular meeting minutes as received. Matt Montowski seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Matt Montowski made a motion to approve and pay the bills, including the last payroll, in the amount of $56,408.10. William Rofkar seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.


The following correspondence was received by the township:

An email from David Adkins of the Ohio Department of Agriculture regarding the recent gypsy moth egg mass survey and proposed treatments.

A letter from the Ohio Utilities Protection Service regarding the township’s annual assessment of $145.88 calculated for 2016.


Karen Shaw presented the November 2015 financial reports and bank reconciliation. There were no questions or concerns.


Matt Montowski said there were four zoning permits and two variances issued for the month of November with a total of $786.24 collected in fees.

New Business

Matt Montowski said there is a telecommunications tower located near Winkies Marina and the owner of the tower would like to add an additional ten feet on to the 240 foot tower. He said they are only required to get approval from the township if the addition request is for a substantial increase.

The trustees agreed an addition of ten feet onto an existing 240 foot tower is incidental.

Matt Montowski made a motion to adjourn the meeting. William Rofkar seconded the motion. All voted aye. The meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

___________________________ _____________________________
Gary Mortus, Chairman Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer