Minutes: January 13th, 2016

Board of Zoning Appeals Minutes
January 13, 2016

Matt Montowski

Chairman Baugh called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Board members present included Sandra Erwin, Jack Zeigler, Jack DeVore and Tim McKenna. Chairman Baugh asked Mr. McKenna to take a seat on the Board as a voting member for the evening in the absence of Doug Blackburn. Walter Wehenkel, Zoning Inspector, was also in attendance along with Township Trustee, Matt Montowski.

Reorganization Meeting

Jack Zeigler moved that Bryan Baugh be elected as Chairman for 2016, Jack DeVore be elected as Vice-Chairman for 2016, and Sandra Erwin be elected as Secretary for 2016. Tim McKenna seconded the motion. The motion was passed. The noted Board members will serve for 2016.

Approval of the December 9, 2015 Meeting Minutes

Tim McKenna moved to approve the December meeting minutes as provided. Jack DeVore seconded the motion. The motion passed.
February Meeting

Mr. Wehenkel advised the Board he will not be able to be in attendance at the February meeting. He stated either the meeting could be rescheduled to February 17th or he could ask Patty Cable to attend the meeting and take notes. The Board decided to have the meeting on the regularly scheduled night
and to have Mrs. Cable in attendance.
Mr. Wehenkel noted the zoning training session is scheduled for March 9th. He asked for possible topics of discussion. The following were suggested:
20% criteria for non-conforming uses
Conflict of interest
Abstaining and why to do so
Modifying applicant application at hearings
Changes necessary after the Board’s decision
Adjoining property owner notification
Fundamental property rights
Blocking views
Incomplete/incorrect applications
Appeal application issues
Zoning & social media

Other topics should be provided to Mr. Wehenkel at the Board member’s earliest convenience so that he may provide them to the County Prosecuting Attorney.

Other Business

Jack Zeigler noted he would be gone for the February and March meetings. Mrs. Erwin stated she would not be in attendance at the March meeting.


Sandra Erwin moved to adjourn the meeting. Jack Zeigler seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m.


_____________________________ ______________________________
Bryan Baugh, Chairman Sandra Erwin, Secretary