Minutes: December 27th, 2016

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees

Public Hearing

December 27, 2016

Trustee Chairman William Rofkar called the Public Hearing to order Tuesday, December 27, at 7:30 p.m. in the conference room of the administration building.

In attendance were: Gary Mortus, William Rofkar, Matt Montowski, John Gangway,
Dan Barlow, Kevin Wylie, Allen Stryker, Rick Smetzer, Tamara Waldemar, Reggie Langford, Randy Riedmaier, and Jack DeVore.

William Rofkar explained applicants Doug and Patricia Brockelman, application #008746, are requesting a zoning change from “C-3” Highway Commercial to “R-3” Residential District. The applicants are requesting to rezone a 20 foot wide by 200 foot deep portion of Lot 1 in Maplewood Subdivision in Section 3, Lot 8 of Catawba Island Township. The property is located at 5237 E. Lawrence Drive. The portion of the property being rezoned is used as the driveway access to the home on the remaining portion of Lot 1. The owner would like to rezone the property so the entire parcel has the same zoning classification.

William Rofkar said the Ottawa Regional Planning Commission met November 15, 2016 and voted to recommend approval of the rezoning request.

William Rofkar said the Zoning Commission met November 29, 2016 and voted to recommend approval of the request.

Tamara Waldemar, sister of the applicant, said the property has been in the family since the early 1970’s and will be passed on to the fourth generation. She said the family did not realize until recently the property was split zoned and they would like the driveway zoning to match the rest of the property zoning.

The Trustees briefly discussed the request.

Gary Mortus made a motion to approve zoning application #008746 to rezone the parcel from “C-3” to “R-3” as requested by the applicants and recommended by the Zoning Commission. Matt Montowski seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Matt Montowski made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Gary Mortus seconded the motion. All voted aye. The meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m.

_______________________________ ______________________________
William Rofkar, Chairman Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer