Minutes: November 27th, 2018

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees

Meeting Minutes

November 27, 2018

The regular business meeting of the Catawba Island Board of Township Trustees was called to order by Chairman Gary Mortus on Tuesday, November 27, at 7:30 p.m. in the conference room.

In attendance were Gary Mortus, Matt Montowski, William Rofkar, Karen Shaw, Dan Barlow,
John Gangway, Kevin Wylie, Julie Wylie, Randy Riedmaier, and Jack DeVore.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

Matt Montowski made a motion to approve the November 13, 2018 Board of Trustees regular meeting minutes as presented. William Rofkar seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

William Rofkar made a motion to approve and pay the bills, including the last payroll, in the amount of $286,892.01. The total on the bills includes a payment of $222,484.25 to The Ottawa County Engineer’s Office for the 2018 Road Resurfacing Project, a payment of $6,924 to the Engineer’s Office for the 2018 Road Striping Program, and a payment of $22,868.23 to Holcomb Materials for salt delivered for winter road maintenance in which we will be reimbursed 50% of our cost from the Engineer’s Office in agreement for maintaining NW Catawba Road for the county. Matt Montowski seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.


A letter from the “Neighbors of Maplewood Allotment” regarding garbage scattered about and not being properly maintained at the property located at 4095 N. Crogan.

Matt Montowski said he spoke with the property owner who assured him if it continued the renter would be out. Matt Montowski reminded everyone in attendance however that the township does not enforce deed restrictions.

A letter from the Ohio Utilities Protection Service regarding assessment fees for the 2019 calendar year to be invoiced in February. The assessment amount of $276.89 reflects transmissions based on our database selection during the 12-month measurement period of September 1, 2017 through August 31, 2018.

A letter from Palmer Energy Company regarding the RFP Results from County Commissioners Association of Ohio Electric Government Aggregation Renewal RFP.


Police Chief John Gangway said he is scheduled to meet with the insurance adjuster in regard to the police car involved in an accident. He said in addition to the damage to the vehicle the camera has detached from its mount and may need some work to correct.


Maintenance Supervisor Dan Barlow said drain work in the Hickory Ridge subdivision will begin tomorrow and that neighborhood residents have been notified. He said the road should be open by 5:00 p.m. tomorrow evening.

Dan Barlow presented two proposals for replacement of brick on the front of the Community Hall; Masonry Construction Co., Inc. $15,420 and Cuevas Construction LLC $23,500.

The Trustees agreed to wait until January to make a motion regarding the Community Hall repair work.

Dan Barlow said he had Mullens Tree Service drop a tree on Weyhe Road due to safety concerns.


Fire Chief Kevin Wylie said they are continuing work on finalizing the new Paid On Call procedures for the volunteer fire department which will begin in 2019.

Kevin Wylie also submitted the 2018 Stipend and Gas Allowance Reimbursement for the volunteer fire department members.

Trustees agreed Fire Chief Kevin Wylie should receive his annual stipend and fuel allowance reimbursement as submitted in addition to his $300 monthly salary received for being chief.

New Business

Matt Montowski said he talked to the manager at Marine Max regarding a fence between their property and the West Harbor Boat Launch township property. Matt Montowski said a TRQ (Township Request for Assistance) will be submitted to the county for help in identifying the property line. He said the township can then look into installing a four foot chain link fence to define the property near the entrance to the West Harbor Boat Launch.

Gary Mortus reminded everyone that due to the Christmas Holiday the final meeting of the year has been rescheduled for Thursday, December 27, at 9:00 a.m.

William Rofkar made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Matt Montowski seconded the motion. All voted aye. The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

___________________________ _____________________________
Gary Mortus, Chairman Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer