Minutes: April 14th, 2020

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees

Meeting Minutes

April 14, 2020

The regular business meeting of the Catawba Island Board of Township Trustees was called to order by Chairman Matt Montowski on Tuesday, April 14, at 7:30 p.m. in the conference room.

In attendance were: Diane Belden, Matt Montowski, William Rofkar, Karen Shaw, John Gangway, Jim Stouffer, and Randy Riedmaier.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

William Rofkar made a motion to approve the March 24, 2020 Board of Trustees regular meeting minutes and the March 31 special meeting minutes as presented. Diane Belden seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Diane Belden made a motion to approve and pay the bills, including the last payroll, in the amount of $83,202.00. The total on the bills includes a payment of $32,250 to the City of Port Clinton for Emergency Medical Services for the first quarter of 2020. William Rofkar seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.


A letter from Ottawa Regional Planning Commission regarding the Fiscal Year 2020 Community Block Grant Program.

An email from the Ottawa, Sandusky, Seneca Solid Waste District announcing all spring recycling collection events have been cancelled due to health and safety concerns involving the COVID-19.


Fiscal Officer Karen Shaw presented the March 2020 financial reports and bank reconciliation. There were no questions or concerns.


Matt Montowski said there were thirteen zoning permits issued in March and one variance with a total of $1,654.08 collected in fees.


Trustees agreed Police Chief John Gangway could replace an in car camera with a refurbished camera with a 90 day warranty at a cost of $615.

New Business

William Rofkar said the maintenance department has picked up brush and leaves and are beginning to start mowing.

Diane Belden said a report was received from Kent Johnson of Port Clinton Fire and Rescue. She said there were 73 EMS calls to Catawba Island for the first quarter of 2020.

Diane Belden said Catawba Island Fire Chief Kevin Gibbons said the throttle cable broke on engine 222 when they were on a fire call and truck 222 will be out of service until it is replaced. She said Kevin Gibbons ordered a replacement for an estimated $250.

Trustees agreed it would be a good idea to encourage residents to complete the 2020 Census and will put a reminder on the sign out front.

Trustees agreed to waive the permit fees for two signs for the Catawba Island Historical Society.

Matt Montowski said the Board of Zoning Appeals met on April 8 and although there were four cases to be heard, representatives from each case remained separated outside of the meeting room and each case was staggered twenty minutes apart to maintain safe physical distancing for all.

Karen Shaw said she received an email from the Ottawa County Auditor Jennifer Widmer stating a request was received from a local merchants association asking them to petition the Tax Commissioner to delay second half tax collection. The auditor asked how a delay in second half tax collection would affect Catawba Island Township and what time frame would be acceptable, if any, in the delay of tax revenues.

The Trustees agreed with regard to the current situation they would be flexible with the decision to delay second half tax collection if that is what the Commissioners, Bob Hille, and the auditor agree is best for all in the county.

Karen Shaw discussed additional charges being assessed monthly by Frontier for phone numbers listed in the phone book.

Trustees agreed to eliminate one of two phone numbers listed for the Catawba Island Fire Department and eliminate the listing for the Community Hall because there are no offices located at the Community Hall. It was also agreed to eliminate the listing for zoning because it is the same number as the listing for the administration offices where the phone calls are answered for zoning.

William Rofkar made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Diane Belden seconded the motion.
All voted aye. The meeting adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

___________________________ _____________________________
Matt Montowski, Chairman Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer