Minutes: May 26th, 2020

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees

Special Meeting

May 26, 2020

Catawba Island Township Trustees held a special meeting on Tuesday, May 26, at 6:30 p.m. in the conference room of the administration building. The purpose of the meeting was to meet with Catawba Island Volunteer Fire Department members to discuss equipment needs and expenses.

In attendance were: Diane Belden, Matt Montowski, William Rofkar, Karen Shaw, Dan Barlow,
John Gangway, Kevin Gibbons, Louie Wargo, Eric Schramm, Will Moore, Brian Washburn, and Randy Riedmaier.

Fiscal Officer Karen Shaw presented an overview of Fire Levy Fund revenues and expenditures including estimates for the next five years. She also shared General Fund financials noting the loss of Estate Tax revenue after 2013. The estimated Fire Levy Fund revenue over the next few years is $130,000 annually. The average annual CIVFD expenditures over the past seven years has been $85,500, however, the new Port Clinton EMS service contract is $129,000 annually not including any additional expenditures.

Louie Wargo discussed various equipment needs as presented in an Apparatus Replacement Proposal submitted to Trustees. The proposal included three new vehicles by 2025 with estimated costs totaling $1,150,000 and another $125,000 in equipment needs including the replacement of turnout gear. The proposal also included a new tanker by 2029 with an estimated cost of $300,000 and a new engine with an estimated cost of $700,000 by 2032.

A discussion took place regarding options other than purchasing new equipment such as refurbishing current equipment or purchasing good used equipment.

Trustees agreed there is much thought and consideration to be made with regard to future CIVFD needs and expenditures. No decisions were made at the meeting.

Diane Belden made a motion to adjourn the meeting. William Rofkar seconded the motion.
All voted aye. The meeting adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

___________________________ _____________________________
Matt Montowski, Chairman Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer