Minutes: December 8th, 2020

Catawba Island Township Board of Township Trustees

Meeting Minutes

December 8, 2020

The regular business meeting of the Catawba Island Board of Township Trustees was called to order by Chairman Matt Montowski on Tuesday, December 8, at 7:30 p.m. at the Community Hall located at 3307 NW Catawba Road.

In attendance were: Matt Montowski, William Rofkar, Diane Belden, Karen Shaw, Dan Barlow,
John Gangway, Ann Rumpf, Dave Belden, Randy Riedmaier and Jack DeVore.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

William Rofkar made a motion to approve the November 24, 2020 Board of Trustees regular meeting minutes as presented. Diane Belden seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Diane Belden made a motion to approve and pay the bills, including the payroll, in the amount of $51,063.55. The total includes a payment of $8,789 to the Bureau of Workers Compensation for the 2021 policy premium and payments of $6,575 and $1,550 to Ken Gill Construction for work on storm sewers in front of the maintenance building and fire department. William Rofkar seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.


Trustees received letters from Jehovah’s Witnesses representatives from Ottawa County as part of a campaign to deliver a special issue of The Watchtower to all government officials. A copy of The Watchtower was enclosed with each township official’s letter.


Fiscal Officer Karen Shaw presented the November 2020 financial reports and bank reconciliation. There were no questions or concerns.

William Rofkar made a motion to amend the Appropriation Resolution and request an Amended Certificate from the Ottawa County Auditor for the additional revenue in the Coronavirus Relief Fund of $5,895.91 and the Trustees authorize the appropriation of the full amount in 2020. Trustees authorize the transfer of the full amount of $5,895.91 to the General Fund for the reimbursement of police salaries from March 2, 2020 to October 11, 2020. Diane Belden seconded the motion.
Matt Montowski, aye; William Rofkar, aye; and Diane Belden, aye. Motion carried.


Matt Montowski said there were thirteen zoning permits issued in November and one variance with a total of $2,027.35 collected in fees.


Police Chief John Gangway said there has been a recent “Executive Order on Safe Policing” issued at the federal level regarding use of force procedures and the police department remains compliant due to ongoing adherence to the Lexipol public safety policy program purchased annually by the township.


Maintenance Supervisor Dan Barlow said he will be retiring in January after 25 years with the maintenance department. Dan Barlow said he plans to continue his service with the Catawba Island Volunteer Fire Department.

Trustees agreed to pay a $1,550 invoice from Ken Gill Construction for the additional concrete needed above and beyond the originally approved purchase order of $6,575 for the drainage work completed in front of the maintenance building and fire department.

Dan Barlow discussed concerns regarding Columbia Gas making cuts across township roads after roads have been resurfaced and without filing for a permit with the county prior to work being done.


Diane Belden said the Catawba Island Volunteer Fire Department responded to four fire runs and seven EMS runs for the month of November. She also said the Port Clinton Police picked up ambulance 227 that was donated to their department.

Diane Belden said Paul Ochs has stepped down as President of the Firemens Association and the Association voted Chris Scott the new president.

New Business

Diane Belden said the Wreaths Across America ceremony is scheduled for 11 a.m. on Saturday, December 19.

Matt Montowski said the Parks Board canceled their meeting scheduled for December 9 due to the increased number of Covid cases and because there was nothing pressing at this time.

Diane Belden made a motion to adjourn the meeting. William Rofkar seconded the motion.
All voted aye. The meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

___________________________ _____________________________
Matt Montowski, Chairman Karen Shaw, Fiscal Officer